Slow Dance

stone poems at Blue Hole falls – Crooked Creek

August. . .Sunday. . .Slow dance. . .on a hot day

 

About wrensong

I am a poet who collects stones. I am a wanderer of creek beds and forests, canyons and high desert who, coming home, sometimes finds words to tell the story. I am a companion with others in the search for Deep, Wild Soul. I shape containers in time and space for others to come together to write, to tell their stories, to hold each other in the telling. I am a grandmother and the companion of a cat named Alaya. I often travel out into open country with a man who calls himself Dunewalker who has hung his hammock in my heart.
This entry was posted in A River of Stones, aros, stone balancing, stones, summer, The River. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slow Dance

  1. Libby says:

    Love this. Such a great photo.

  2. Teri says:

    Stopping by I find rest… in the balance of an inner axis. Dunewalker is a master stone balancer indeed!. And you found words and an image to tell the story. Of course this reminds me of another stone balancer (my brother). I do believe I shared a photo of one of his collaborative pieces called “rock man” sometime back. He and my now deceased nephew would go hiking on my brothers land and started a rock structure named rock man. It was always built to about my nephews height- of course that became more challenging the older he became. The structure now stands because everyone who chances by it makes sure it stands tall. Thank you for the time to remember. xo teri

    • wrensong says:

      I’d love to see the photo again, Teri. This sounds like a truly ceremonial way of honoring the men who have walked together and the one whose spirit hovers in this place.

  3. wrensong says:

    The stones look like they are pirouetting slowly on their points, delicately balanced by Dunewalker, a master stone-balancer. Actually held in utter stillness on their inner axis.

  4. Hmmm . . . I may have to stare at this photograph for a while. It plays tricks on my eyes in the most pleasant of ways. 🙂

Leave a Reply

