Postcard Poem – The Silver Chariot

In my grandmother’s attic, dim

and hot as the summer’s own oven

where the air smelled of dust motes

and old wood

One day

when I was young and foolish

she offered me a silver chariot

complete with silver horses.

Today I wonder…

If I had accepted the gift,

Would things have been different?

-wrensong

church image postcard

San Francisco de Asis, 2 Views Ranchos de Taos ca 1905 & 1925 n. merle maclean original photograph B. G. Randall

About wrensong

I am a poet who collects stones. I am a wanderer of creek beds and forests, canyons and high desert who, coming home, sometimes finds words to tell the story. I am a companion with others in the search for Deep, Wild Soul. I shape containers in time and space for others to come together to write, to tell their stories, to hold each other in the telling. I am a grandmother and the companion of a cat named Alaya. I often travel out into open country with a man who calls himself Dunewalker who has hung his hammock in my heart.
This entry was posted in Poetry, postcard poems, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Postcard Poem – The Silver Chariot

  1. wrensong says:

    The silver chariot was a Victorian center piece for holding fruit, I imagine. Ornately molded and embossed. Something my grandmother would have used on the dining room table when serving guests. For some reason the memory of that moment has stayed with me for 45 years. I can still smell that attic which was a favored treasure house to me as a child. Years later I got into antiques and wished I’d taken it. Today I’m grateful I don’t have to figure out which grand daughter would ever in her wildest dreams want to polish silver. The question arose: would my life have been different? sort of as a surprise. Made me wonder about those little choice points of life. And the metaphor of a chariot for carrying us in different directions. If I had become a woman who set that kind of a table, indeed, everything would have been different. I might never have quit drinking!

  2. John Stevens says:

    Coming back to your poem: was the silver chariot a venerated image from Hindu mythology?

  3. wrensong says:

    Excellent! Thank you, John.

  4. John Stevens says:

    The title makes all the difference. As I’m sure you intended.

    • wrensong says:

      Tell me about the difference this title makes, John. It just seemed like the right title. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      • John Stevens says:

        It catches the eye first. It heightens the romance, too, making the offered gift appear extraordinary. It takes a poem about an attic and a grandmother and hints at classical Greece or Rome. There! How’s that?!

Leave a Reply

