Postcard Poem – There Must Be Songs

Does the wheat feel like silk

Under the broad open palm of the wind?

Does the wind ripple with longing as

It flows thru sun-drenched fields?

See how the seed shivers, the

golden stem lies down so easy

under that breathing.

There must be songs

we can’t know words for

rising and falling

in tides of light,

this ecstasy

between grass and sky,

this elemental tenderness

whispering,

the harvest

(so) near.

-wrensong

photo by Duncan Toms

photo by Duncan Toms

About wrensong

I am a poet who collects stones. I am a wanderer of creek beds and forests, canyons and high desert who, coming home, sometimes finds words to tell the story. I am a companion with others in the search for Deep, Wild Soul. I shape containers in time and space for others to come together to write, to tell their stories, to hold each other in the telling. I am a grandmother and the companion of a cat named Alaya. I often travel out into open country with a man who calls himself Dunewalker who has hung his hammock in my heart.
This entry was posted in Poetry, postcard poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Postcard Poem – There Must Be Songs

  1. I just yesterday received this poem (There Must Be Songs) as the 27th of my August postcard poems, and it was SO worth the wait! Your poetry is what I was hoping for–this is my first time doing the August postcard poems and I was an absolute tabula rasa about the whole thing. I didn’t know what kind of poetry was expected, I hadn’t written poetry since I was in my 20s (I’m in my 70s now and inspired all over again), and I didn’t even know whether/how to identify/label/sign my own poems. But I decided it was as much for me as for the recipients–maybe even more for me–so I did my 31 poems, enjoyed myself in the process, didn’t identify anything, and came home on August 31 (I’d spent July and August in Maine, away from my home in Texas–and from my mail) to find about 20 postcards with poems of varying degrees of quality, most feeling and looking like their authors had simply dashed off a sentence or two about nothing much. Your poem was SO lovely, so evocative, so moving. I’ll be following your blog–and “practicing” through the year so that next year, well. . . . Next year will be something else. Thanks again for the inspiration. I’ve just this second decided to resurrect my long-ago abandoned blog and do some musing of my own on all of this.

    • wrensong says:

      Patsy, what a pure delight to get your note and know someone who actually got one of my poems. This is my first year at this, too, and once I got started I didn’t want to stop. I found the joy in the challenge of doing a poem a day, and less fun in receiving the postcards with their varying poems. But fun in that, too. I too am in my 70s. I started this blog a few years ago and now am getting back to posting as I intend to keep going with these postcard poems. At least for as long as the juice in it lasts. So you actually are in my post-August list as I am just following on down the page sending out my postcards. Have fun and I’ll check in with your blog!

  2. just rediscovering your poems. each one is beautiful. just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

