Lunch at the Fish Ranch – a postcard poem

A beautiful, wild, wacky, smart, energetic, outgoing and generous woman I know who calls herself A. Dragon,  runs a business she calls The Poet’s Way (check it out) out of her place in Massachusetts where she hosts retreats of various kinds. She also travels with pockets full of poems tucked in her Bard’s Medicine Pouch. The place is called The Fish Ranch Think Tank. I’ve never been there but when I found this postcard in New Mexico last week, and then discovered her name was next on my list of people to send my daily poem to, this came, dashed off on the card with no editing or amendments.

IMG_1201

Lunch at the Fish Ranch (edited)

Abundant Chablis and wild caught devilish eggs

A platter of fine sliced poems served up raw

with marinated onions stewed in laughter

There are stories and dreams poured over 

homemade ice cream, dark chocolate

and fishing poles waiting

to catch the next glittering star.

Reservations forbidden.

The postcard image is entitled “Adventuresome Caesar Salad” thus the inspiration.

IMG_1202

About wrensong

I am a poet who collects stones. I am a wanderer of creek beds and forests, canyons and high desert who, coming home, sometimes finds words to tell the story. I am a companion with others in the search for Deep, Wild Soul. I shape containers in time and space for others to come together to write, to tell their stories, to hold each other in the telling. I am a grandmother and the companion of a cat named Alaya. I often travel out into open country with a man who calls himself Dunewalker who has hung his hammock in my heart.
This entry was posted in Fish Ranch Think Tank, Poetry, postcard poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunch at the Fish Ranch – a postcard poem

  1. Oh my gosh, I love this one to pieces! I’m drawn to that wacky energetic lady who calls herself A. Dragon!

    Missed all of you this morning very much….but have to say that my talking was equally as beneficial to my soul! An obligation of the program, but a gift to yourself when it’s done. 😀

    Laurie Ritchie Whole Art Connections

    “Play is my spiritual practice.”

Leave a Reply

