Alchemy – a typewriter poem

About wrensong

I am a poet who collects stones. I am a wanderer of creek beds and forests, canyons and high desert who, coming home, sometimes finds words to tell the story. I am a companion with others in the search for Deep, Wild Soul. I shape containers in time and space for others to come together to write, to tell their stories, to hold each other in the telling. I am a grandmother and the companion of a cat named Alaya. I often travel out into open country with a man who calls himself Dunewalker who has hung his hammock in my heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alchemy – a typewriter poem

  1. Beautiful work! 🙂

  2. John Looker says:

    I enjoy your typewriter poems. In this one, the line about the wren’s pure fire puzzles me — I’m not sure how to interpret it — but the other lines seem spot on and exhilarating. I hope such a comment is not unwelcome? I especially relish “this coin cast for a day’s spending” which appears fresh and original!

    • wrensong says:

      Always welcome, John. Something about alchemy started stirring as I saw the metals of sun and sky meeting, and heard the clear, penetrating song of the wren, saw something like the alchemist pouring molten metal into the alchemical vessel, a gold coin emerging. What we’re given in this transforming moment to get us thru the day. Maybe it doesn’t work: the wren’s pure fire. What if it is the energy of birdsong that gives the day shape, that turns dawn into prayer? maybe worth saving for another poem. But thanks for reading deeply enough and writing to say what works and what doesn’t to your ear.

      • John Looker says:

        Thank you for that response. Yes, the birdsong itself is transformative, one of the sparks that produces the alchemy. I like that. And I like the poem! Best wishes.

  3. Love this. The wren’s pure fire. We are all turned into gold. Beautiful. Xx Rionach

Leave a Reply

