Poems to Other Mothers – a group of postcard poems

guadalupe postcard_1647

DOLPHIN postcard_1648

“There Are Mothers of Everything”

IMG_1646

The Kona Coast

The Kona Coast April 2015

“There are mothers

for everything, and the sea

is a mother too,

whispering and whispering to us

long after we have stopped listening”.

-from Invisible Work, Alison Luterman

About wrensong

I am a poet who collects stones. I am a wanderer of creek beds and forests, canyons and high desert who, coming home, sometimes finds words to tell the story. I am a companion with others in the search for Deep, Wild Soul. I shape containers in time and space for others to come together to write, to tell their stories, to hold each other in the telling. I am a grandmother and the companion of a cat named Alaya. I often travel out into open country with a man who calls himself Dunewalker who has hung his hammock in my heart.
This entry was posted in mothers Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poems to Other Mothers – a group of postcard poems

  1. Grandma Kathy says:

    “Was there once mother who called you to your greater depths……yes and yes?” wren song continues to sing and call and invite me to the sea, to mother earth to me….thank you mother!

  2. Lovely way to begin celebrating Mothers Day. Thank you. I think many of us think of the sea in that mothering way, perhaps a reminder of our womb-time, and the understanding that life itself evolved from the sea.

  3. Carol Ann says:

    I, too, feel the sea as my ancient mother…and receive a salty hug from the poems and photo you share here.

Leave a Reply

